Go Back   986 Forum - The Community for Porsche Boxster & Cayman Owners > Porsche Boxster & Cayman Forums > Boxster General Discussions

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-09-2012, 05:47 PM   #1

Garage
Newbie on the hunt

Hey all, another newbie here searching for his first 986. I'm a grad student looking for a fun driver (I bike nearly everywhere at the moment, so I won't be relying on the Boxster for much other than fun weekend car for wine tasting in the valley, driving downtown, etc). I took a look at a couple cars in the LA area over the weekend, and one in particular stood out to me as an interesting case that I wanted to get a bit of input on.

It's a '97 Tiptronic, 75k mile, 3 owner weekend car. Matte gray vinyl exterior (which looked better in person that I thought it would, to be honest) over Arctic Silver base paint with 19" black BBS Staggered rims. Seller is asking $9000 for it at the moment. However, the problem is that I never got to drive it! As he was pulling the car out of the garage I noticed the back right tire was flat. Unfortunately, both rear tires were worn down almost completely to the point where they would be unsafe to drive on, hence the flat. Front and rear brake pads looked a bit worn too (around 50%). Plastic window has a slash in it that needs to be replaced. No maintenance history to speak of, though seller mentioned that he recently took it to a local indy porsche shop for an oil change (at 3k miles).