Go Back   986 Forum - The Community for Porsche Boxster & Cayman Owners > Porsche Boxster & Cayman Forums > Boxster General Discussions

Closed Thread

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-29-2012, 04:03 AM   #41
l3m

Deleted post.

Last edited by l3m; 02-29-2012 at 04:17 AM.
Old 02-29-2012, 05:14 AM   #42

Quote:
Originally Posted by Boxeer View Post
It is a good idea but I don't think the bearing design/quality can be put in relationship. As a mechanical engineer I have to choose bearing sometime and it is my responsibility to choose the right one that match my application. They just screwd the design deeply and they are ignoring it. It's already a miracle that the bearing did last 42k.

The use of a bearing was just a bad choice as it is impossible to quantify the play of it and plan a replacement before failure happens. A bearing has an L10:

Bearing Life Estimation - load and life calculations - Pacamor Kubar Bearings

Greg
That is true, and you have an off the shelf single row bearing. I'm no lawyer, but, I would think one could back door porsche through the bearing company as the original bearings are a custom design (OEM) by porsche built by NSK and not available to the public. I am sure NSK documents, emails, drawings, etc. will show the flaws of a design reported to porsche most likely before during and after the failures took place. Hence we come to the off the shelf of the single row bearing, and the replacement engine bearing, 2 different designs used at the same time, 1 design to use up stock (single row) even though it was a flawed design. I am sure that a lawsuit would have to come Texas as their laws provide for a pre lawsuit subpoena of all evidence to see if a lawsuit is viable.
Old 02-29-2012, 05:48 AM   #43