Go Back   986 Forum - The Community for Porsche Boxster & Cayman Owners > Porsche Boxster & Cayman Forums > Boxster General Discussions

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-17-2005, 01:48 PM   #1

Airbag light is on after removing the seats.

Is this normal and does it go away after awhile? I had them both out for a day and had the passenger one out for two weeks while diagnosing and fixing the coolant tank problem.

I've read about the TSBs, but didn't know if those apply since the seats were just removed.

Thanks!

1986 Daughter White/Brown Top (Sold!)
1992 Daughter White/Blonde Top
deliriousga is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2005, 04:26 PM   #2

It IS normal but I think you need to re-set this. Tool Pants would know for sure.
Brucelee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2005, 06:48 AM   #3

I have some experience with this issue. I removed my seat without first disconnecting the negative wire on the battery and letting the car sit for 45 minutes proir to unhooking wires from the seats. This give the car time to dissipate any electricity in the computer components and keeps that pesky dash light off when you get your work done.

Your airbags are working fine though.

You must get the dealership or a mechanic with a PST tool to turn it off for you.

PS - Because I removed my driver's seat, (MY97) I evidently whacked the seat belt receptacle that one last time it needed to give up the ghost. So when I went in to get the airbag dash light turned off, it came right back on due to the bad seat belt receptacle. My mechanic had a new one lying around because they go bad after 5 years and he replaced it. No more dash light.

Porsche should replace these for free if you ask me. It's a safety issue and US manufacturers would have done it for free for any model year... you'd have heard about it on the evening news!

Last edited by RandallNeighbour; 07-18-2005 at 06:54 AM.
RandallNeighbour is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2005, 07:00 AM   #4