Go Back   986 Forum - The Community for Porsche Boxster & Cayman Owners > Porsche Boxster & Cayman Forums > Boxster General Discussions

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-06-2005, 11:20 AM   #1

Smile Newbie here - need guidance

Hey folks..... I am new to this site. Hopefully will be a regular here.

I am in a process of ordering or buy my first Porsche. I am thinking about getting a 2005 Boxster S in the early Summer. I have probelms in deciding what "MUST Have" option I need. So far I decide to have:

1. Porsche acitive suspension management
2. Sport chrono package

Any other items I should consider? TIA.

Later,

underDAWG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2005, 04:29 PM   #2

Litronic lights are one of the best options. I would also think about 19" wheels if they don't come along with the PASM package. If you can afford it I would think about the PCCB brakes. Along with being among the best production brakes in the world, they will make your car very unique as this is a very rare and expensive option on the new boxster S.
Adam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2005, 06:08 PM   #3
Crazed P-Car enthusiast

Correct me if I'm wrong (and it's likely that i am) but aren't the PCCB brakes prohibitively expensive to maintain when it's time to do the rotors, change the pads etc.? I seem to recall a recent British Porsche publication, the name of which escapes me at present, pointing this out. And does a Boxster REALLY need that kind of stopping power, outside of a dedicated track environment? My 2001 has WAY more brakes than nessecary at the track, lap after lap, no fade or lack of power. Even my previous car didn't have that kind of stoppage!
Old 03-06-2005, 06:22 PM   #4

Options