Go Back   986 Forum - The Community for Porsche Boxster & Cayman Owners > Porsche Boxster & Cayman Forums > Boxster General Discussions

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-15-2009, 09:49 AM   #1

Another `speaker` question .. door and dash

Hey guys,

I dont know much at all about car audio, complete newbie, but I do know enough to recognize that I dont like how the stock stereo sounds. I listen to alot of 'hiphop', rap and techno, so I need the `boom`.

I read as much as I could on here, before my brain shut down, and here the 2 things I learned.

- Open top = ****************ty soundstage
- Anything other than 5.25 in the door will require custom work
- I dont know enough learn enough to not f' up unless I post specific questions

Door Speakers

1. I know that several members recommend going to 6.5 in the door, especially if I want the `boom` for my type of music, but this is going to need custom baffles created. Will I get raped at the install shops for this kind of customization?

2. How would a 6.5" door speaker be in comparison to a nice (or what I think is nice) 5.25" component set with door tweeters like the Infinity Kappa 50.9cs OR JL VR525-CSi? What about installation cost of the tweeter into the door?

Dash Speakers

1. What sizes should I be looking at? 3.5" ? 4" ?

2. Do I have to buy a set with tweeters too or is the dash tweeters considered a separate speaker?

3. Assuming I go the 5.25 component set route for the door speakers, then would having 4 tweeters have any potential negative impact?

Thanks for reading all this.

I AM a newb to car audio, so please be gentle in your reply.

nefarious986 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2009, 10:53 AM   #2

For the speaker rings, have a look here:
http://shop.selectproducts.com/diy/items.asp?CartId={7283C9D1-5D34-4A09-9BBEVEREST8-A5426780C0AF}&Cc=MDF

DISCLAIMER - I haven't looked at the speakers & fitment in the Boxster, so I'm not sure if these would be a direct fit.