Go Back   986 Forum - The Community for Porsche Boxster & Cayman Owners > Porsche Boxster & Cayman Forums > Boxster General Discussions

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-21-2009, 08:52 AM   #1

To All Tall Drivers who drive a Manual...Quick Q's

Hello:

I'm new to this forum and currently debating between a used boxster, Z4, and S2000. It's gotta be a convertible and manual smile.gif I'm 6'2" and concerned with working the clutch in the boxster.

Yesterday I sat in a boxster and noticed that the steering wheel couldn't tilt up. Is that right? I'm I not finding the lever to tilt up? Because of this I couldn't comfortably place my feet and my knees were hitting the steering wheel. Do other tall drivers have this issue?

I test drove the Z4, which permits the steering wheel to tilt up so it wasn't an issue.

Apologies if the questions are pretty basic. I'm completely new to these cars.

Thanks,

PJ

phatjoe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2009, 10:14 AM   #2

There is a stalk / handle on the lower rt side of the steering column. Twist it clockwise and it will allow you to adjust the wheel up / down, and in / out. It's not the traditional tilt wheel but should allow you to raise it enough to clear your legs. While I'm slightly vertically challenged (5'10"), there are many tall forum members who don't seem to have any problems.

Hopefully you'll find a Boxster to your liking. Great time to buy.

PS.
30 yrs ago my dad and I would buy wrecked cars from Stafford's in Montgomery. Stopped by there a couple of summers ago and said hello. Great people.
2008 Boxster S Limited Edition #005
2008 Cayman S Sport - Signal Green
1989 928 S4 5 spd - black
1987 928 S4 - Granite Green Metallic (Felsengrun)
husker boxster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2009, 10:22 AM   #3

First gen Boxster's steering wheel does not tilt up. I'm 6'2" and I fit fine.

Good luck trying to drive on the S2k.
ekam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2009, 10:24 AM   #4