Go Back   986 Forum - The Community for Porsche Boxster & Cayman Owners > Porsche Boxster & Cayman Forums > Boxster General Discussions

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-16-2009, 08:06 PM   #1
Schatten-Baum-Mechaniker

Quote:
Originally Posted by boxster1
Can I drive on a track?
Yes you can!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yk4g-85ZQpM
tommy986 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2009, 09:34 PM   #2

Send a message via AIM to LoveBunny
I know nothing about track driving either. I'm scared to take my own car on a track because I really worry about something happening and my insurance won't cover it. I have to admit I'm also a little nervous about looking like an ass in front of other people since I know nothing about tracks, track driving, etc. I'd really prefer to do something where I can use a car provided by Porsche. I've seen those advertised.
LoveBunny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2009, 11:06 PM   #3

As an instructor I like to see novice drivers taking schools and learning the finer points of driving even if they never race.

I recently convinced my GF to take the boxster to a 'skills day' at a local track (ex. airport) with the local PCA. It was a well set up event with all kinds of instruction that taught total novices and multi-time participants.

Danielle was totally nervous about breaking my car because she knows how much I love it. I finally convinced here that there was nothing that she could do to it that I didn't do on a daily basis. After the event she was far less nervous and really enjoyed herself as well as learned a lot. I think I got her hooked.