Go Back   986 Forum - The Community for Porsche Boxster & Cayman Owners > Porsche Boxster & Cayman Forums > Boxster General Discussions

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-26-2009, 12:20 AM   #1

IMS question.

Can the ims be upgraded on the boxsters as a precaution... looking at on 00 at 39k miles and don't want to have it go out as soon as i buy it...

mikes_box is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2009, 05:31 AM   #2

Contact Jake Raby, board sponsor at www.flat6innovations.com or click on the big logo, upper right hand corner.
PCA DE Instructor circa '95
jmatta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2009, 05:59 AM   #3

Garage
Mike, I have a '00 S with 38k. I went through all the same anxiety that you're going through. I'm a long time bmw driver and always stayed away from the boxsters for the very same thing you're worried about. Do a search of my screen name and you'll find some very good posts from other members back in January to me about my worrying about ims failures. Hopefully it will put your mind at ease.

sean :-)
SeanZ4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2009, 06:10 AM   #4

Yes, no and costly

Can it be done, yes.

Is it cost effective, no. You currently have to split the case apart to get at the IMS bearings though someone is reputed to be working on a version that allows a replacement with merely the motor removed from the chassis and no need to go inside the crankcase.

Just like any other car...some fail. And just like any other car...drive it, enjoy it, break it and fix it in that order if it happens.

My Boxster S '01 has had lots less problems than my '01 Acura TL and none serious in trouble or $. My prior '99 Boxster had no problems. My prior 914 couldn't stay out of the shop.
mikefocke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2009, 07:29 AM   #5

Start funding your own multi-$B 'Bailout Plan' just in case, and then forget about it.