Go Back   986 Forum - The Community for Porsche Boxster & Cayman Owners > Porsche Boxster & Cayman Forums > Boxster General Discussions

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-14-2007, 07:24 PM   #1
There Is No Substitute.

Garage
A Few Questions

Okay,
I am new to boxsters (one month owner), and I have a few questions. I have a used '99 Ocean Blue Boxster with almost 18k miles. My questions are:
Can you add Traction Control? (Maybe stupid but worth asking; isn't all a computer program)
Any tips for treating the top? How does Renovo cleaner, ultra proofer, and vinyl window cleaner work?
Is it normal to hear some movement when driving over bumps, like the convertible top shifting while closed?
Is the plate under the rear, supposed to be bent over the rear anti-swat bar? (mine is bent into a v-shape to go under the rear axle sway-bar?
How do I know if the previous owner installed a short shifter?
Any tips for a new owner?

Thanks!

rick3000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2007, 08:16 PM   #2

Send a message via AIM to blinkwatt
Any tips for treating the top?

Raggtop Top Cleaner for the top, followed w/ a lint roller to clean up after your done washing the car. Now as for the plastic window, find Plexus,I've used w/ great results everytime and I haven't seen it do anything I would warn others about.

Is the plate under the rear, supposed to be bent over the rear anti-swat bar? (mine is bent into a v-shape to go under the rear axle sway-bar?

This is what it's supposed to looks like;
http://www.renntech.org/forums/uploads/post-2-1116527104_thumb.jpg

How do I know if the previous owner installed a short shifter?

Are the shifts short & notchy or long & smooth?

Any tips for a new owner?

Have fun w/ your new toy!
Old 05-14-2007, 08:20 PM   #3
There Is No Substitute.

Garage
The shifts are short and kind of knotchy, does that mean it has a short shifter.