View Single Post
Old 11-04-2018, 12:14 PM   #1
Ottomotion

Otto's adventures w/2003 S

So I have posted a few things in the New Members forum as well as on a few other threads. I decided to start my own thread that will detail my trials and tribulations with my newly acquired 2003 S.
Just to review...
I found the car on CL in Santa Cruz. Seller was very cool. Said it had zero compression in #5, no inter mix and no metal in oil. He had recently replace the water pump, alternator, RMS, IMS w/LN ceramic unit, had the tip trans fully serviced, new axle boots, new rotors, pads, etc...I got the car for a very good price. (see Found on CL thread) The seller was really great, open and honest.

And I also scored a Hardtop from another CL seller for another great price (see CL Thread)

My Father-in-law has a shop locally and thankfully allows me to use his facility. I have some experience with wrenching, but its just a hobby. (see New member intro for my other projects). I am a middle school teacher and father of a very busy HS junior. She plays water polo and is an accomplished violinist. My hobby time is very limited.

Originally I was going to try and address the issue of cylinder #5 in car. I scoped the hole (couldn't really see much) and ran my own compression tests. #5 was indeed not pumping up. I pulled the exhaust manifold and could see the exhaust valves in their seats. The problem had to be with an intake valve..top of the head, hard to reach.
Because I was not even getting a bump on the needle during the compression test, I figured that one of the intake valves must be hung open.

It was at that time I decided to drop the motor. Because of my access to the luxuries of a repair shop, I was able to drop motor and trans together. Lots of great resources on this forum as well as books made a very intimidating job manageable.