View Single Post
Old 11-30-2017, 02:24 PM   #35
B6T

Glad to see some discussion and progress on this! I'm going to be getting starting on my project in a few weeks. I've got a 2003 Boxster S. I'm also a mechanical engineer and I've also swapped/wired up Audi engines before (2.7tt swap into a B6 chassis A4). I have a lot of shops in the area that I deal with through work who can support fabrication or machining for my project. I have lots of Solidworks experience and a little bit of FEA.

I've got a 4.2L sourced locally, along with wiring harness and ECU from a 2003 Audi A6. This particular engine is an 'AWN' code engine. As well, I have a 5-speed from a B5 chassis FWD Audi A4, which is the same transmission used in the non-S Boxster. So I'm still sourcing the 5-speed conversion components (through Woody actually ). I knew that the 6-speed from the Cayman was compatible with the 986, but as mentioned, it's also around $3,000 USD. So the 5-speed will have to do for now, until I come across that winning lottery ticket. Or until someone offers me $3,000 for my 986S transmission.

One of the significant requirements of this swap is that it passes an OBDII smog inspection. This is a requirement in the area where I live in order to be able to renew your vehicle registration.

I'm not really worried about mechanical issues because I can sort those out. What I am worried about is more related to the electrical side of things...

My concerns are:
- Tachometer compatibility (some Audi ECUs communicate tach via CAN and other through a signal wire)
- A/C idle up (usually through CAN)
- Rad fan switching (some Audis have relay modules (early 2.7tt) and some use a PWM signal from the ECU (3.0L V6)
- Engine compartment fan switching (not a big deal, but anyway)

There are a number of swap online which show a functioning tachometer, which leads me to believe this isn't really that big of an issue.