View Single Post
Old 11-10-2015, 06:05 PM   #36
Jim Rockford

I've had experience with NB's (including the Mazdaspeed turbo'd Miata), and NC's (including a Skip Barber spec NC around Mazda Raceway Laguna Seca), and also quite a bit of seat time with the ND on canyon roads outside LA. No experience with the NA. I currently own a 2000 non-S Boxster.

Each of the Miatas had a common thread, directness. Absolute unmatched precision in the shifter, and laser like road connection. They were all also inadequately tired. The NBs and NCs really felt like short wheelbase cars, and the ND is less direct and actually more vague, but ultimately feels like it's gained grip levels far beyond the former cars and doesn't feel as eager to let go in the snappy fashion that the former cars did. Feels more like an RX-8 in wheelbase behaviour (another car that I have extensive experience with).

The Boxster has a slop in the steering at low speed and a shifter that cannot come anywhere near the Miata, but once the steering weights up at speed, the road feel gets far better, the feeling of mechanical grip over the Miata is considerable and the balance is even better (which is hard to believe). Keep in mind these are viewpoints from all vehicles that are not modified, or mildly modified.

The brakes on the Boxster are really something special. Like nothing I've ever felt before. Pedal feel is firm and has a real heft to it, whereas the Miata is dainty and you can modulate the brake with your big toe but it's lacks that built of pure granite type feel. Ultimately I prefer the Boxster brakes.