View Single Post
Old 11-12-2012, 04:27 AM   #67
mikehkang

Quote:
Originally Posted by brp987 View Post
Last post. We need to get away from the notion that because you have health insurance, that all your medical care is covered. No, medical insurance is like car insurance - you buy how much coverage you want, based on how much you can afford. Yes, wealthier people can afford better care. And unhealthy people, like lousy drivers, are going to pay more.

Tort reform. Yes, mistakes and incompetence exist, but there are a large amount of nuisance suits.

Free medical care for illegal aliens/prisoners. Drastically reduced. I read about a recent case where a prisoner was granted a sex change operation!

I'm not an expert. I really recommend Sally Pipes book. It's a good start.
Last post here too.

I will try Sally Pipes's book. I recommend to you either watch "Sicko" or read Robert Reich's Beyond Outrage. If you watch Sicko, you would understand that my concern prior to the Obamacare is not the extend of insured medical coverage but the insurance company's abliity to DROP you once you become sick.

I am taking chances with IMS, but I am NOT taking the chance that some huge medical bill will ruin me. With the Obamacare, there will be NO chance of medical bankrupcy in my future - without it, there certainly was. Just watch the movie if you haven't yet then you will know what I mean.

Tort reform - I completely agreed with you. We need it bad.