View Single Post
Old 12-27-2008, 03:59 PM   #5
jwade

1989, here is my two cents...

When did you decide you wanted one?

1987 when I was in the 7th grade. Was out with my grandmother one day and we purchased a Porsche magazine at the local grocery store. An article about the 911 sold me and ever since, I have been a car buff..had R&T, MotorTrend, Car & Driver, and the Dupont registry to entice me for years.

How long did it take to finally purchase it?

Actually this year, February to be exact.

The day I saw a low mileage california red on tan '01 Boxster S come on Ebay, I knew this was the one. User stats for the seller showed zero (0), so I knew this person selling was a total newbie. It was exactly what I wanted ever since I watched the Boxster prototype come into play around the mid 90's while in college at UT Knoxville.

How old where you then, and now?

33 when I bought it. I am 34 now...July Birthday.

Is there anything you would have done differently?

Nope, car was optioned exactly how I wanted it down to the dark burr walnut shifter and e-brake. Literally I thought this was a crazy to have the exact car I would have ordered if new. Really, and I don't want to sound snobish, but buy the S model. It's that good man and really, why mess around with the base model???

Went down to georgia to see the car (original owner had just had it transported from Sacremento, CA to Lake Oconee (Reynold's Plantation, GA) and it was a dismal day, but when the owner arrived for the visual inspection and test drive, the sun came out...almost too wierd man, like this purchase was supposed to happen!

Took it through Jim Ellis Porsche in Atlanta for a PPI. Came out perfect so I went on ahead and had the 15,000 mile checkup performed. Car at the time had 13200 on the odo. Make sure you do this when you find the car you want.

Quick word of advice for a young person trying to save for one?