Go Back   986 Forum - The Community for Porsche Boxster & Cayman Owners > Porsche Boxster & Cayman Forums > Performance and Technical Chat

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-21-2007, 06:34 PM   #1

Send a message via AIM to Bisimoto
Talking Finally: Dyno charts of de-snorked 986S!!!

Greetings all,
I recently purchased my 2001 Boxster S (last week Wednesday), and could not wait to start playing around with it on my dynamometer. I am an engineer, tuner and enthusiast, and have designed parts for NSXs, S2000s, and even factory supported FWD drag race teams. My race program involved many secured world records...but I digress.

Since I own my own Dynapack Chassis dynamometer, and noticed some confusion in this board (yes, I have lurked for a while) in regard to if de-snorking produces any other benefit above an enhance intake roar, I took it upon my self to perform the following test. Each run was repeated to ensure credibility.

My bone stock S: red line
De-snorked (15 minuets later): violet line

A 5 WHP GAIN!!!! In addition, almost 3 ft/lbs of torque

Finally some proof, and feel free to share this with our peer members. This is the most cost effective gain I have seen in a while!

On the dyno:

Left over "organ":

No tyre interface to introduce, variables like other cheaper intertia dynos. More data to come, as I try some interesting technology on the S...

Bisimoto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2007, 06:58 PM   #2
boggtown

You lucky son of a gun, how much did that dyno cost you? I presume thousands...
Im glad you did the dyno's, all you need to do now is test some other stuff like a cold air intake, or exhaust.
Old 02-21-2007, 07:08 PM   #3

Red face

The unit set me back $61K, but worth every penny: more accurate and safer than inertial roller dynos. Since K&N is helping my race program this year, I will have to get a filter for the Boxster and test that too.