Go Back   986 Forum - The Community for Porsche Boxster & Cayman Owners > Porsche Boxster & Cayman Forums > Performance and Technical Chat

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-02-2019, 04:34 AM   #1
MarkT

Garage
Quick Coolant Flush mixture question

This is my first time flushing my 05 987 S. Based on everything I have read I will not get all the old coolant out. Possibly only 4 or 5 of the 6 gallons. I will flush with distilled water which will mix with the remaining coolant then drain that out leaving over a gallon of diluted coolant in the car before I put my new 50/50 in.

My question is do I need to worry about the overall mix in the car being less than 50/50 because of the remaining coolant? Should I mix my new coolant possibly 60/40?
I could be over thinking this but I don’t want to screw it up.

Thanks for the any help!

Markt213 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2019, 04:42 AM   #2
1998 Boxster Silver/Red

Quote:
Originally Posted by Markt213 View Post
This is my first time flushing my 05 987 S. Based on everything I have read I will not get all the old coolant out. Possibly only 4 or 5 of the 6 gallons. I will flush with distilled water which will mix with the remaining coolant then drain that out leaving over a gallon of diluted coolant in the car before I put my new 50/50 in.

My question is do I need to worry about the overall mix in the car being less than 50/50 because of the remaining coolant? Should I mix my new coolant possibly 60/40?
I could be over thinking this but I don’t want to screw it up.

Thanks for the any help!
I went 50/50 with my drain. You'll be fine.

Save the overthinking for mechanical stuff.
Old 08-02-2019, 08:29 AM   #3
MarkT

Garage
Ok thanks Starter986!