Go Back   986 Forum - The Community for Porsche Boxster & Cayman Owners > Porsche Boxster & Cayman Forums > Performance and Technical Chat

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-08-2006, 07:24 AM   #1

cayman vs Boxster suspension

Went to The Dealer to check out the Cayman. Owner told me the best handling car he has ever driven. Would have gotten a test drive but the weather was crappy. My Question as I studied the info packets what is the true difference in the suspension, it looks as if its the same as the boxster. I realize there is the sport control option which can be added but in general seems as if its the same. Is there that much body twisting from the convertible top to cause this amazing difference.. hmmm

1995 Honda Civic *Track Toy*
1971 Olds Cutlass Convertible
1968 Camaro SS 396 4 speed
2000 V Star 1100
BadBoyS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2006, 07:29 AM   #2

Missing a roof always makes the car lose alot of rigidity... Just like adding a roll cage to a closed roof increases it. The nice thing about the Boxster compared to say a 911 cabriolet is that it is designed to be a convertable. It's not just a coupe with the roof chopped off that is then reenforced like most convertables are.
But what is so important about driving faster than anyone else?
Lots of people go through life doing things badly. Racing's important to men who do it well.
When you're racing, it's life. Anything that happens before or after is just waiting.
Porschekid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2006, 08:57 AM   #3

Quote:
Originally Posted by Porschekid
Missing a roof always makes the car lose alot of rigidity... Just like adding a roll cage to a closed roof increases it. The nice thing about the Boxster compared to say a 911 cabriolet is that it is designed to be a convertable. It's not just a coupe with the roof chopped off that is then reenforced like most convertables are.
Hi,