Go Back   986 Forum - The Community for Porsche Boxster & Cayman Owners > Porsche Boxster & Cayman Forums > Performance and Technical Chat

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-09-2013, 08:48 AM   #1

Unhappy Help! Drowned Porsche

Hi all,

I'm a noob hoping to avoid a very costly attack on my Dad's wallet by Porsche East London. Torrential rain here in London a few weeks ago overwhelmed the (possibly slightly blocked) drains under his tiptronic 986 Boxster S's tonneau cover and filled the passenger-side footwell with water. We were alerted when the alarm started going beserk at 2 A.M., which some Googling tells me is because Porsche cunningly fitted the alarm/immobiliser module under the passenger side seat in the lowest part of the monocoque, and it was therefore probably full of water.

I disconnected the battery and sealed the car up with a tarp and duct tape until it stopped raining. The following morning I dried the carpet out with a towel as best I could (it was sodden) and set about checking what wasn't working - which turned out to be most of the rear of the car, specifically the power roof, rear light clusters, and spoiler. After a few days more drying out (again, with the battery disconnected) using dehumidifying crystals, more towel treatment, removal of some of the more easily accessible bits of the carpeting over the engine bulkhead, the footmats and the Bose speaker bar, the roof resumed working, and the alarm too.