Go Back   986 Forum - The Community for Porsche Boxster & Cayman Owners > Porsche Boxster & Cayman Forums > Performance and Technical Chat

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-24-2013, 07:10 AM   #1

Spark Plug Tube Replacement

Hoping to change the tubes in my 2.7 liter on Saturday.

I have read some say just use motor oil to lube the new O-rings, but won't the oil actually cause them to break down?

I heard someone else say use silicone paste from a hardware store (which I have never used before) but am concerned this may make the tube "stuck" inside of their respective "sleeves"

I didn't buy the expensive Porsche grease (obviously).

Please let me know what you have used and why.

Thanks!

utkayaker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2013, 07:37 AM   #2

You're overthinking this. Just smear a little oil on the o-rings with your finger and put them in. It will be fine.

Where you will find the real debate is on whether or not to use anti-seize paste on the plugs. I did, very sparingly.
Old 10-24-2013, 08:40 AM   #3

Mark - I have been accused of that before!

Thanks for putting my mind at ease about this...
Old 10-25-2013, 10:52 AM   #4

The Bentley manual says to lubricate the spark plug tubes with motor oil before reassembly which was reassuring to me. I was happy to see that vs buying the super expensive "Porsche spark plug tube o-ring assembly lube"...

Steve
steved0x is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2013, 11:04 AM   #5

The Porsche o ring lube is nothing more than silicone dielectric grease, common auto parts store item, about $5 will get you tube you can use for the rest of your life..........
Old 10-25-2013, 11:05 AM   #6

Yeah, I think that stuff is an attempt by Porsche to prove that Barnum was right.
Old 10-25-2013, 12:42 PM   #7

Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by steved0x View Post