Go Back   986 Forum - The Community for Porsche Boxster & Cayman Owners > Porsche Boxster & Cayman Forums > Performance and Technical Chat

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-31-2010, 08:46 AM   #1

Unhappy 02 Boxster - New Rotors - Rear Passenger Rubbing noise

Hello all,

I'm a Porsche/986forum/DIY'er newbie. Yesterday I installed new rotors/pads/sensors on my 02 Boxster (Base). I noticed that the rear passenger side makes a rubbing noise, which I think is being caused by the new rotor because when I put the old rotor back on, there is no noise.

I'm at a loss b/c this is my first time ever working on brakes, so don't know if this is normal and will "go away" after a while? Or if it's an issue with the new rotor? Or if it's something else.

Here is the rear rotors I bought: R1 Concepts: OEQ Blanks EOE.37031

Here is a pic of the rotor where I think it rubs:

Here is a pic of where I think the rotor is rubbing against:

I also took a short vid so you could hear the noise:
YouTube: Rotor rub

Like I said, when I put the old rotor back on...no noise. The rear driver side is ok too.

Any help/suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks,
Robert

roborob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2010, 09:01 AM   #2

I had a nearly identical sound when I did my rotors for th 1st time. It was just the dust shield. It won't go away by itself, you will have to bend it very slightly out of the way.

'03 Midnight Blue
18" Chromes//Drilled and slotted rotors//pedal upgrade//Alum. Door sills//KSPORT Coilovers//Short Shifter/Strut braces/Clear sides/Hard Top/Speedster humps/Intake//Leather GT3 seats/REVO chip with SPS2
'04 CLK55 AMG 367HP!
'86 944 Guards Red & MINT!
'69 911 Black
PCA Member -Northern Ohio
Cancer Survivor
der Geist is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2010, 10:29 AM   #3

Garage
I listed to the audio on the video and it is the Dust Shield. It is very thin, easy to bend (which in this case is both good and bad news).