Go Back   986 Forum - The Community for Porsche Boxster & Cayman Owners > Porsche Boxster & Cayman Forums > Performance and Technical Chat

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-22-2007, 06:22 PM   #1

Help!!! Dash Lights Are going crazy!!!!

Hey guys,
I'm new to the Porsche world and I need some help. I just picked up a 97 Boxster and the gauge dummy lights are going crazy. After the car warms up the Battery light flashes at random and so do the Traction on/off and ABS lights. It doesn't happen all the time just at random for a few mins. Also the headlights fade in and out when this happens. I alrady replaced the ign. switch...didn't help. Here is a link to a video of my dash when it freeks out.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rBgWfVgS8VM

Thanks for the help,
Jay

jvelthoven is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2007, 07:35 PM   #2

my car did that to right before the alternator went out. It was the weirdest thing but when i described it to the Porsche mechanics, they seemed to have heard that before. Anyway, mine did it for about 1 week before leaving me stuck 50+ miles from a city.
So have the Alternator checked, the connections and relays.
James
jhandy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2007, 11:43 PM   #3

Sounds like the alternator, mine gave those exact symptons right before it died. Definately have it checked, it is not any fun to have the car die on you while on the road.

Ed

2000 2.7L Boxster 102K; TTP intake, headers, high-flow cats; Dansk high-flow muffler; Autothority ECU chip; TechnoTorque 2; Bilstein coilovers; Racing Dynamics strut brace; stress-bar suspension kit; Aasco lightweight flywheel, B&M short shiftkit; 18" wheels; spare tire delete; OEM GT3 seats; JL audio speakers and subwoofer; Alpine PDX-5/PDX-2 amps; Kenwood DNX8120 CD/DVD/Nav; litronics, deambered
edevlin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2007, 02:07 AM   #4

Thanks guys,
I'll check that out.

-Jay
Old 09-10-2007, 07:07 AM   #5