Go Back   986 Forum - The Community for Porsche Boxster & Cayman Owners > New Members - Start here! > New Member Introductions

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-23-2021, 08:24 AM   #1

Garage
First Porsche!

Hello, everyone! I had been considering taking the plunge for several months, but couldn't find anything near enough to home to be a practical purchase. Lo and behold, this weekend a '99 986 white with 70k appeared at a local dealer.

Pre-inspection found a leaking head gasket, so I told them to get it fixed and I would take the jump. It's in the shop now, should have it next week in time for some nice 70 degree spring days. Very excited!

I would like to de amber the headlights, but it looks like on my model I would need new headlights. (Might have a hard time convincing the Mrs. that I need to drop $1k on headlights for the new car I just bought.)

trilobite is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2021, 07:52 AM   #2
1998 Boxster Silver/Red

LOL. Leaking head gasket.

I'm four cups in.
Old 04-24-2021, 09:55 AM   #3

Hi and welcome. My story is very similar, which is why I am responding. I looked for months, and found several 986's I liked but they were too far away. Then, a 2001 Base Boxster appeared locally at a reputable used car dealership. 75k miles. Lapis Blue. Savanna beige interior. Really nice combo. I went and test drove it and bought it on the spot. And like you, I want to de-amber the headlights, and about 100 other things as well. But I am pumping the brakes a little on big mods, for fear that my wife might kill me if I spend a lot more on it right away. So I have started really slow, and so far I have only exchanged the old, tired black Boxster trunk badge with a new silver one, and gotten new color center wheel caps. Good luck with yours and enjoy it all.

Last edited by woody3260; 04-24-2021 at 10:02 AM.
woody3260 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2021, 04:11 AM   #4