Go Back   986 Forum - The Community for Porsche Boxster & Cayman Owners > New Members - Start here! > New Member Introductions

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-09-2018, 06:47 AM   #1

Garage
New member: need some help with top

Hello everyone. This is my first time posting. I'm looking for some help converting my 02 Boxster to a manual top. I've read every article/post I could find and I'm still stuck. The top stopped working in the up position. Yes, I've checked the fuses, relays, microswitches, and handbrake. I can't get the ball sockets to pop off and the 19mm bolt won't turn. I'd appreciate any help/advice. I've always been able to find exactly what I need on this forum and have enjoyed working on my car over the years, but i'm not having any luck with this one. Thanks in advance.

idocod is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2018, 08:30 AM   #2

The top and clam shell are under a good bit of pressure when to is up so popping off the ball sockets is tough because its so hard to get leverage.

Give us some background about the top....was it working? Did you put it up one day and now nothing works?
Maybe try to reseat the top controller in the fuse box?
dghii is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2018, 10:09 AM   #3
Motorist & Coffee Drinker

Garage
That is a tough situation. As dghii said, more info please. What happens, if anything when you try to open it?
Depending on what is wrong, maybe you can get it to operate enough to get it open.
If not, the 19mm bolts will have to come out, or the sockets will need to pop off (or be broken off).
Can you get more leverage to the 19mm bolts? How about reaching them with penetrating oil?
I expect that my video is redundant to what you already know, but just in case:

https://youtu.be/QOLhAR8bLio
Old 06-10-2018, 05:18 PM   #4

Garage