Go Back   986 Forum - The Community for Porsche Boxster & Cayman Owners > New Members - Start here! > New Member Introductions

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-01-2014, 03:22 PM   #1

Smile Please help! Viewing a Boxster today and need some advice!

Hi All,

I am completely new to Porsche cars and don't have a great deal of knowledge of cars in general. Especially buying used cars from second hand car dealers.

Please can you let me know what you think of this used Boxster:

Used Porsche Boxster Convertible 2.7 [245] 2dr Tiptronic S in Iver, Buckinghamshire | London Trade Centre Uk

I am going to view the car this afternoon and would really appreciate any advice as to what I should look out for in terms of wear and tear, engine noises, gear changing etc.

Do you think this looks like a good example for the price? Should I try to negotiate the price down to £14,000 or at least £14,500? And what sort of things could I use to negotiate the price down on this particular model?

I have seen a few similar Boxsters at the same sort of price on AutoTrader and eBay etc, but they all have in excess of 35,000 miles on the clock and this one I am viewing tomorrow only has 20,000 miles on the clock.

I have spoken to the guys at London Trade Centre and they have said the car has just had a full AA inspection prior to be delivered to them. They are going to give the car a full service before I arrive tomorrow afternoon and it comes with a free 12 months parts and labour warranty and the MOT is valid until March 2015. Unfortunately the service history has not been done with an official Porsche dealership, but instead with a service centre based in London.

Any help would be much appreciated!

Thanks in advance

MrBoxHead is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2014, 04:41 PM   #2

I posted this in the General Discussion area but unfortunately it was not approved by the moderators.

Can anyone give me some advice before a
I view the car tomorrow?

Thanks