Go Back   986 Forum - The Community for Porsche Boxster & Cayman Owners > New Members - Start here! > New Member Introductions

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-06-2013, 12:48 PM   #1

Looking to get back into Porsche ownership. . .

Hello,

13 years ago I drove a 1987 951 and loved it. I am a Porsche-phile and have recently been looking at acquiring a 2003 986. Any glaring issues to look for? It seems they worked the the engine troubles out with bringing the 2.7 about.

Thank you,

Scott

s131951 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2013, 05:56 AM   #2

Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by s131951 View Post
Hello,

13 years ago I drove a 1987 951 and loved it. I am a Porsche-phile and have recently been looking at acquiring a 2003 986. Any glaring issues to look for? It seems they worked the the engine troubles out with bringing the 2.7 about.

Thank you,

Scott

I'm by no means an expert on this subject but the 2.7 wasn't a fix. If you are looking at the 986 you want to stay with the double bearing IMS cars (2000 and older). Just my 2 cents.
Meat Head is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2013, 07:10 AM   #3

I like the 2003, updated bodywork and interior, bigger engine, glass window in top. They are right about the single row bearing in the post 2000 being more apt to fail, but a majority of the Boxsters have never had a failure.
Look for a clean well taken care but consistently driven car with service records , and have your favorite mechanic give it a looks see prior to purchase.
Lastly, buy the best you can afford, these cars will nickel and dime you on the small stuff, try to find one sorted out and well maintained.
Skrapmot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2013, 11:11 AM   #4