Go Back   986 Forum - The Community for Porsche Boxster & Cayman Owners > Porsche Boxster & Cayman Forums > DIY Project Guides

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-27-2012, 02:04 PM   #1

Installing full NHP system

Hey all,

I got the full NHP system from 2K3_Boxster_S ( good seller ! ) a week or so ago and am about to attempt this install myself. I've never done anything more 'involved' under my car than changing oil, but hopefully with your help and this Pelican guide ) Pelican Technical Article: Installing a Performance Boxster Exhaust System - 986 / 987 ) I wont run into any issue.

A few questions though:

1. Can I reuse the existing flange for the engine -> header connection? It looks to be in good condition with some sealant marks ( pics below ), but I'm not an expert. If I reuse this, should I put more sealant on ? If so which sealant is recommended ?

2. How come there's two flanges provided for the header to midpipe connection ? One looks more used than the other. Two set of connection bolts here too ..

3. From my research, the 'worse' thing that could happen ( beside CEL ) is gas leaks resulting in reduced performance ? Is there other things I should worry about too ?

4. How can I tell if I have a gas leak ? Should I add some high-temperature silicone sealant during the install to avoid leaks ?

5. How bad is it if I start the car without any exhaust system on ( in case I need to drive it to my local mechanic to finish my botched up install ) ?

Not sure what else I should be looking out for .. any tips would be appreciated.

Last edited by vijen6; 05-28-2012 at 07:21 AM.
vijen6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2012, 08:54 AM   #2
ddb
www.klisstle.com

Garage
vijen6,

I did the install a couple of years ago. My memory isn't too good but here is what I recall: