Go Back   986 Forum - The Community for Porsche Boxster & Cayman Owners > Porsche Boxster and Cayman Classified Ads > Boxsters and Cayman Cars for Sale or Wanted

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-04-2004, 12:45 PM   #1

Wanted:1997 Boxter

Im a newbie, my aunt has two 911's, a 1999 and a awd 2004 vert. I saved up and have about 16 thousand to spend, I have seen them out there for this price, so I know they DO exist. In pretty good condition from what I have seen. I have found a place to buy an extended warranty from... www.autowarranties.com They seem reputable and are members of the bbb. So if anyone has anything or knows of anything let me know!

Rich

rx7partsman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2004, 02:27 PM   #2

Be careful with your warranty, most stories I have read were bad relating to coverage.

Have a good "idependant shop" do a pre inspection.

leak down-

RMS check [oil leak]-

Check engine light operation [make sure all lights on your dash operate "CEL"]

Many other tests, but those being predominate.

One easy test is to ask for the last smog readings. They will tell a lot or if you are set on one car. Spend a few bucks and do a pre test.

A bad/ problem motor will smog with high numbers O2's or "cats" going bad; Close to failure.

Also ask what type of gas have they been running. If they are running Chevron it will be a healthier motor then normal gas. We have some bad type's of fuel in San Diego [Arco] which will make big fat rocks on your valves.

This information was passed to me from a smog guy I know.

Good luck -

Scott
mrmickeymouse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2004, 08:00 AM   #3