Go Back   986 Forum - The Community for Porsche Boxster & Cayman Owners > Porsche Boxster & Cayman Forums > Boxster Racing Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-10-2016, 12:36 PM   #1

How to launch 986

Is there a preferred way to launch the 986 MT? I'm coming from a Miata - on track day I would rev to 4k then side-step the clutch for a good launch. I've been doing AutoX for about 2 years, but always with my Miata. Looking forward to going with the Boxster though

Borin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2016, 01:06 PM   #2
still plays with cars...

Garage
Treat your Boxster like an old Chevelle or apparently a Miata even, and it will quickly throw up its dual mass flywheel. Maybe it's just me, but that's past the line of abuse.
These cars don't tolerate that type of "driving" very well and it'll cost you dearly to fix.
Get the clutch up as quickly and smoothly as possible and do your accelerating while rolling. And no power shifting either, although it used to be a hoot to do in my old Mustang GT.
Arctic Silver on Metropol Blue | LN Dual Row IMSR | Arctic Silver console, spoiler frame & bumperettes | Crios mod | Technobrace | RoboTop module & modified convertible top relay for one-touch roof operation
BoxsterSteve is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2016, 02:16 PM   #3
Track rat

Garage
Boxsters don't launch. Best done in 2nd gear at about 30mph.
Old 06-10-2016, 02:22 PM   #4
Certified Boxster Addict

Quote:
Originally Posted by Borin View Post
Is there a preferred way to launch the 986 MT?
Rev to 4,500rpm, drop the clutch, and peg the throttle on the floor!

This is the technique that I used to take the lead in a standing start race. Be ready to counter steer a little if the rear end squirms and be ready to shift to second when the rear tires hook up or you'll hit the rev limiter and lose momentum.