Go Back   986 Forum - for Porsche Boxster & Cayman Owners > Porsche Boxster & Cayman Forums > Boxster Racing Forum

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-28-2011, 03:44 PM   #1
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: SLC
Posts: 123
AIM MXL Pista dash set up

I have an AIM dash I'd like to use. In the Race Studio software there is no Bosch 5.3 entry in either the Porsche or Bosch ecu menu's. There is a 996 entry but I assume that is the Bosch 7.x series.

Do people run it with the OBDII CAN setting or does the 996 ecu setting work?
MaxD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2011, 08:02 AM   #2
Registered User
 
Brad Roberts's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Alta Loma, CA
Posts: 1,334
Let me look for you Just so happen to have my Laptop and a car here that has the same dash.


B
Brad Roberts is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2011, 08:04 AM   #3
Registered User
 
Brad Roberts's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Alta Loma, CA
Posts: 1,334
Have you met Bill Noblitt? Works with the AIRPower guy's? Runs a red Boxster with NASA. Airpower is based at Miller.


B
Brad Roberts is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2011, 06:51 PM   #4
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: SLC
Posts: 123
Yep, have met Bill and Airpower is within eyesight of my garage at Miller. Learning from example is great and I always look at the current prep he is running.
MaxD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2011, 09:27 PM   #5
Registered User
 
Brad Roberts's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Alta Loma, CA
Posts: 1,334
Its 10:30pm (I'm still at the shop) the car is in the air until tomorrow, when it comes down I'll plug in. Friends of Les and Bill.. is a friend of mine

Do you hang out with the Magnus guy's also? and drink.. Budweiser? LOL (J/K)

I'm shipping off some more engine parts to Bill tomorrow (Fri.)



B
Brad Roberts is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2012, 06:25 PM   #6
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: SLC
Posts: 123
Brad,

The Magnus guys really need to throw a good dinner party with that garage kitchen. They put an amazing cage in their Subaru race car so I do need to chat since I need a little work on the M3.

Did you get the dash setting?
MaxD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2012, 06:38 PM   #7
Registered User
 
Brad Roberts's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Alta Loma, CA
Posts: 1,334
Good news/bad news. Good news is: my shop helper listens and follows instructions very well. Bad news is: He pulled the entire chassis harness out of the car with the AIM dash (we pair them down and yank 25+ lbs out of them) he came in over New Years whilst I was away.

I'm going to power up the dash from a jump box and get the info for you Thursday (promise) I don't want to guess with this one..

Did you own the Silver Boxster that sat with a flat tire a few rows over from Les' shop?

Had a factory hard top on it?


B
Brad Roberts is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2012, 08:10 PM   #8
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: SLC
Posts: 123
Nope, I have a white one that is quite happy in a warm garage. It's supposed to be 50F tomorrow so I will have to take a spin around the paddock.

Get to it when you can, this is just a little winter project. I still have to splice into the CAN. Paring down the harness is on my list as well.

Do you keep the original fuse box or move it?
MaxD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2012, 08:14 PM   #9
Registered User
 
Brad Roberts's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Alta Loma, CA
Posts: 1,334
I keep one *row* of the original fuse box, and we extend the Immob wires and place it behind the airbag cover on the passenger side (keeps it dry)

You end up with ONE relay and about 5 fuses in that single row

I offer a service to my clients. I have harness' already paired down and immob moved. I do them on an exchange basis. I have one for 97-99 and one for 00-04



B
Brad Roberts is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2012, 11:26 AM   #10
Registered User
 
Brad Roberts's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Alta Loma, CA
Posts: 1,334
Getting closer. It made it to my desk





Went home early last night. Starting to get sick
Brad Roberts is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2012, 11:37 AM   #11
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: SLC
Posts: 123
That's a great pic since it shows your dash mount, which I still have to fab up. I'm off to Miller now to do a little work.

Take care of yourself, you are a madman.
MaxD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2012, 11:40 AM   #12
Registered User
 
Brad Roberts's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Alta Loma, CA
Posts: 1,334
24-7 Non-Stop Pure Porsche. I feel odd right now.. not being at Daytona for testing
Brad Roberts is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2012, 07:12 AM   #13
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Garden State
Posts: 1
I just saw this thread, and also wanted to ask if it's possible to even hook up the AIM MXL to an '01 986S ECU ... thank you!
fuenfer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2012, 09:00 PM   #14
Registered User
 
Brad Roberts's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Alta Loma, CA
Posts: 1,334
OK

We finished the harness and reinstalled the dash. I'd prefer not to share the config file with the entire group ")

Send me a PM and I'll send you link for a download

Yes. This system works just fine in the late cars



B
Brad Roberts is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On




All times are GMT -8. The time now is 05:12 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0
Copyright 2018 Pelican Parts, LLC - Posts may be archived for display on the Pelican Parts Website -    DMCA Registered Agent Contact Page