Go Back   986 Forum - The Community for Porsche Boxster & Cayman Owners > Porsche Boxster & Cayman Forums > Boxster General Discussions

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-24-2007, 12:18 PM   #1

Ready to purchase Boxster S

I have been researching the boxster for several months now and have narrowed it down to 3 different cars:

2002 Boxster S, 42K miles, Porsche Certified-$26,900
2000 Boxster S, 24K miles, Certified-$24,000
2003 Boxster S, 46K miles, Certified-$29,000

The price is the asking price and will negotiate down. My question is it worth the extra money to go with the 2003? I like the lower miles on the 2000, but not sure if it is to old.

Thanks

tex599 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2007, 12:28 PM   #2

The 03 has the advantage of a glass rear window and a few upgrades. Other'n that you should look at the options you need most and records of maintenance. PPI is a must. I would make sure no wrecks involved.

And Welcome!
PCA since 1970

Last edited by 70Sixter; 01-24-2007 at 12:29 PM. Reason: addition
70Sixter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2007, 12:33 PM   #3

Looks like a great choice to me.....good luck and enjoy.....and make sure you post a pic of your purchase!
Old 01-24-2007, 12:40 PM   #4

Did you see this TX 986 posted to another board? It's more money, but I highly doubt they'll get 41K for it and can be negotiated down. If you can live with the color, it's pretty seriously loaded (including hardtop).

http://roger-beasley.porschedealer.com/preowned_cars/info.php?inventoryid=279126

06 987S- Sold
Carrara White / Black / Black/Stone Grey Two-tone

05 987 5-speed - Sold
Midnight Blue Metallic / Metropol Blue / Sand Beige

06 MB SLK350- Lease escapee
Iridium Silver Metallic / Black

We've heard that a million monkeys at a million keyboards could produce the complete works of Shakespeare; now, thanks to the Internet, we know that is not true. - Robert Wilensky
SD987 is offline   Reply With Quote