Go Back   986 Forum - The Community for Porsche Boxster & Cayman Owners > Porsche Boxster & Cayman Forums > Boxster General Discussions

Closed Thread

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-31-2006, 04:05 PM   #1

Why Block your License Plates when posting a Pic on this sit

I have been a cop for over 8 yrs. and find it a little oddthat people either cover or write over their license plates when posting on sites. The problem is that no matter what more people see your plate on the road and the other thing it really doesn't matter cause most of the people on this site put where they are from ( state) any way. I just kind feel it's useless to cover a license that is seen by people while your driving . Just opinion .

Last edited by clb0099; 12-31-2006 at 04:31 PM.
Old 12-31-2006, 04:12 PM   #2

I agree, but, I think it's a privacy issue. Say for example, someone really pisses you off on the board, or worse yet, wants to "borrow" your car. As you know, it's quite easy to run plates and obtain the registered owner and address.
USA

:troll:
Old 12-31-2006, 04:16 PM   #3

The thing with running plates you would still have to go to your local police department and even at that they could not release any info. Also there is really no privacy issue to be honest. You have no privacy to your license plate since it easily viewed by the public. I just feel it's useless not only on this site but in general no added protection . More like a mental thing

Last edited by clb0099; 12-31-2006 at 04:21 PM.
Old 12-31-2006, 04:28 PM   #4

Quote:
Originally Posted by clb0099