Go Back   986 Forum - The Community for Porsche Boxster & Cayman Owners > Porsche Boxster & Cayman Forums > Boxster General Discussions

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-06-2021, 09:56 AM   #1

Exclamation 99 Boxster Roof Off Tracks! Need help

I'm new to the Boxster community and my fears of reliability came true this weekend when raising the convertible top. It appears the attachment bolt from the passenger side black actuator came out mid-operation (pic5) and somehow the ball socket on the driver side of the clamshell/ tonneau cover popped off the track(pic 3,4)?! Not sure the exact order of events, but after searching forums and youtube, I am unsure of how to proceed.

The top will still raise and lower evenly. Both lower connecting arms with plastic endpoints are intact (pic7). The threads seem to be intact where the passenger side hydraulic arm bolt attaches to the transmission assembly (I was able to get them to catch and left it hand tight for now- pic5,6).

If you have experience with these tops please advise and thank you!

986andmx5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2021, 05:35 PM   #2

I have things moving in the right direction or so I hope! I removed the clamshell which allowed me to pop back in the ball on the driver side where it belongs on the sliding track. With the top in maintenance position I reattached the bolt end of the black hydraulic arm on the passenger side with 17mm open ended wrench. Ops checked good.

When I went to replace the clamshell it was twisted, so I have to work on getting that sorted. Hopefully if that goes well everything will operate smoothly.
Old 04-08-2021, 06:43 AM   #3

Garage