Go Back   986 Forum - The Community for Porsche Boxster & Cayman Owners > Porsche Boxster & Cayman Forums > Boxster General Discussions

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-12-2020, 11:49 AM   #1

P0430? What to do?

Hello, I scanned a p0430 code on my 01 Boxster. I'm wondering what steps I should take to find the problem. Should I start by clearing the code with my scanner? I'm a newbie with scanner tools. If I clear the code and it's still an issue will the CEL come back on? After that, what should I check? Thanks for your help.

Black_Boxster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2020, 12:38 PM   #2

P0430 indicates that the main three way catalytic converter on bank 2 conversion level is too low. Clear the code, if it returns, you need a new cat.
Old 03-13-2020, 06:47 AM   #3

Garage
It can also be a bad O2 sensor, the post cat one. Even if it isn't the O2 sensor you may be able to keep it going and pass inspection for a while by changing your driving style. Don't tool around at low revs, but let the engine sing and drive in a lively style. I have a dying cat that I have kept going for 2 years now by doing this. I do have a replacement manifold/cat sitting on a shelf, ready to go in if the light comes on hard or I need to pass inspection.
2009 Mercedes Benz CLK 350 convertible
1941 Dodge Luxury Liner Coupe
Anker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2020, 11:47 PM   #4

Garage