Go Back   986 Forum - The Community for Porsche Boxster & Cayman Owners > Porsche Boxster & Cayman Forums > Boxster General Discussions

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-23-2004, 08:57 PM   #1
Forum Member

Send a message via AIM to Past_VNE
Fast Car Girl ;)

Hello all!

Quick intro:
I am an all-around car enthusiast who found a special love for German cars after visiting Germany last year. Let's just say I came home with a wonderful after taste. I am a corporate pilot who is just now getting back in the air after economy-related lay-offs. In the past, I've driven a 76 280Z, 91 SHO+, 94 Corvette LT1 6 spd and still have my first car, an 88 Thunderbird 302 5.0L, now a highly modified mini-monster. She is wonderful and my baby, but lacks a certain refinement. Despite what you all may think of her, she's not leaving my stable.

I am about to buy my first Boxster. I have found a marvelous 01 S with 5,000 miles. Also, it's certified and is $9000 under the Edmunds price for the appropriate options. Is Edmunds usually accurate for this car?

My first big question is this: My husband found the Boxster's seats (non-sport) to be too narrow for him (6'3", 195lbs, avg, solid build.) The kidney bolsters were a little over-exuberant and hurt him after a 30 minute drive. So, before buying a Boxster, we need to resolve this issue. (We had a similar problem with our Vette.)

Our thoughts:
1. The new 911 seats fit him marvelously. Can they be fitted to a 986?
2. Recaro or other company?
3. Have reputable interior shop shave bolsters and re-stitch seats to accomodate him better.
4. Do the sport seats have adjustable bolsters and can they be fitted to a non-sport seat car?

Any thoughts on these options and ANY other suggestions are greatly appreciated as this is a stopping point for us in the buying process and we really want to make it work.

Also, in case you care....I want to participate in SCCA.

If you've read this far, thanks!!!

Jaclyn