Go Back   986 Forum - The Community for Porsche Boxster & Cayman Owners > Porsche Boxster & Cayman Forums > Boxster General Discussions

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-05-2006, 05:21 AM   #1

Boxster in Winter & HiFi

I'm planning to buy a '02 Boxter, but before I need some feedback from "real" owners.

Winter: I'm new to NJ (just moved from the warm Spain): is it possible to use that car as a daily drive car during winter (40 miles commute)? Do I need winter tyres (and how much is it)? Is it worth to buy the Hard Top?

Sound: How's the standard sound system quality? Lot of difference with Bose one?

This will make my final decision easyer. Thanks a lot.

David

soydrp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2006, 05:25 AM   #2

Smile

Yes, you can use the Box in winter. You WILL need a good set of real snow tires, such as Blizzaks. You can obtain a price estimate on Tire Rack.com.

If the snow accumulates enough, you cannot drive the Box as its low height will get you stuck on top of a decent accumulation.

A hardtop is recommended but not essential.

IMHO, the stock sound system is junk. The Bose is better and preferrable.

Good luck.

PS-watch our for the NJ Potholes, they can swallow an entire Box.

Brucelee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2006, 06:39 AM   #3

agreed on the sound system, it is absolutely horrible. if you want to enjoy it w/ the top down on the freeway, you need serious work and serious watts. i FINALLY got mine dialed in, but it's not an easy car to fix in that respect.

on the up side, the engine sounds so good you almost don't need a stereo....

http://i156.photobucket.com/albums/t...1/KMTGPR-1.jpg
insite is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2006, 08:07 PM   #4

Send a message via MSN to yfei
Quote:
Originally Posted by insite
on the up side, the engine sounds so good you almost don't need a stereo....
Agree