Go Back   986 Forum - The Community for Porsche Boxster & Cayman Owners > Porsche Boxster & Cayman Forums > Boxster General Discussions

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-31-2017, 01:16 PM   #1

Fragile?

Okay, because I'm new, and seeing various posts on diy stuff, and classifieds involving 'roller' cars and finally because I see there is a solid cross-section of weekend racers and driving enthusiasts, I have to ask your opinion: Is the Boxster a fragile car? I'm new to the car so it will take a while before I drive in a spirited fashion (I'm not ever the type to push the envelope) and I can appreciate the elements I will need to observe, but having said that, would you still say it's a solid reliable car? I plan on oil changes every 5K miles, RMS and IMS have just been done and I'll do them again in about 20K, with a clutch .... with all the reading through this forum etc. I started to wonder if it is fragile, as well as being well engineered (which does seem contradictory).
Cheers!

pidj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2017, 01:40 PM   #2

Imho

The Porsche is not by its nature a fragile car. I gotta ask, why would you consider doing the IMS and RMS a second time? Never heard of such a thing. And, unless you're doing burn outs you won't need another clutch at 20K either.
schnellman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2017, 01:49 PM   #3

Garage
Fragile meaning easily destroyed, insubstantial, flimsy....No
Old 03-31-2017, 01:50 PM   #4
Certified Boxster Addict

Take a look at this thread.... Redline...
1997 Spec Boxster BSR #254
1979 911 SC
POC Licensed DE/TT Instructor
thstone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2017, 02:08 PM   #5
1997 Tip, 2018 Macan

Garage