Go Back   986 Forum - The Community for Porsche Boxster & Cayman Owners > Porsche Boxster & Cayman Forums > Boxster General Discussions

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-28-2016, 12:05 PM   #1

Garage
Stupid simple question

Okay, earlier I posted a thread asking if anyone might chime in and helping me determine what the cause of a thumping sound might be on my 99" Boxster upon a hard take off. Everyone was more than thankful.

Now I have a stupid question because I'm new to the Porsche World.

How many Motor Mounts does the 99" Boxster have? I know it requires two transmission Mounts, but do I need one or also two motor mounts?

thank you all

19steelers74 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2016, 12:13 PM   #2

one motor mount.

it sometimes gets confusing when you start researching online because the 911, with it's reversed engine, uses the motor mount as a transmission mount and the transmission mounts as motor mounts.
The Radium King is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2016, 02:28 PM   #3
On the slippery slope

Garage
Changing the motor mount is a reasonable easy DIY.
You can buy just the insert for around $40 rather than the entire assembly for around $150 (IIRC)
If you do the insert, you will need a press to remove the old insert and and press in the new one

As a while your in there...
Replace the water pump and thermostat. It also makes it easier to do the motor mount as you have the hoses disconnected
2014 Porsche Performance Driving School
2020 BMW X3, 2013 Ram 1500, 2016 Cmax, 2004 F-150 "Big Red"
JayG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2016, 03:59 PM   #4

Garage
To answer your question directly, the Boxster has one motor mount and two transmission mounts!
2009 Mercedes Benz CLK 350 convertible
1941 Dodge Luxury Liner Coupe
Anker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2016, 04:35 AM   #5
Project Addicted