Go Back   986 Forum - The Community for Porsche Boxster & Cayman Owners > Porsche Boxster & Cayman Forums > Boxster General Discussions

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-09-2016, 07:56 AM   #1

Weekend oil change...bummer

Performed an oil change this weekend and found the green bits in the filter. Last oil change was clear. No metal bits were located.

I have an appointment with the Porsche mechanic on Tuesday to get the diagnosis. I am a reasonably capable DIY mechanic but this has me worried.

Dave
2001S

dsallean is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2016, 08:41 AM   #2

We've seen this before:
P1325 & green rubber plastic bits in the oil - Is the end near?

Hope that helps; good luck!
Old 09-09-2016, 08:44 AM   #3
Ben-Auto-Design

Again?! Third time in two month...
Ben-Auto-Design : Performance parts for 9X6 / 9X7
1982 928 S Euro
Ben006 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2016, 08:47 AM   #4

Thanks I did a search and saw the other thread(s). Thankfully I don't have a CEL at this time. Just thought I would share what I found and what the diagnosis is when I find out.
Old 09-09-2016, 08:53 AM   #5

Garage
Hey Dsallean; Sorry to see this. Your car is an 01 I believe so it does have the solenoid that fails. I'll ask the question again since it COULD be related. Does your car by chance have the DOF IMSB? Thanks
911monty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2016, 09:06 AM   #6

Quote:
Originally Posted by 911monty View Post
Hey Dsallean; Sorry to see this. Your car is an 01 I believe so it does have the solenoid that fails. I'll ask the question again since it COULD be related. Does your car by chance have the DOF IMSB? Thanks
911monty it doesn't have the DOF IMSB. I have been buying parts and tools to do the clutch, RMS and IMSB among a few other items this winter. I also have Ben006's short shifter to install.
Old 09-09-2016, 09:08 AM   #7

Garage
Thanks for the reply about the DOF. Best of Luck to you.
Old 09-15-2016, 09:19 AM   #8

Update: