Go Back   986 Forum - The Community for Porsche Boxster & Cayman Owners > Porsche Boxster & Cayman Forums > Boxster General Discussions

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-08-2006, 07:17 PM   #1

Boxster Sounds Like It's on a Ventilator

I'm relatively new to Boxsters. A few months ago I bought a 2000 Boxster S. It's been a great car, I've done a couple of DE events and love how the car handles. Recently the car has been making a really loud whine for about 1 second following starting, clearly something with the starter motor. Also, after my last DE event, the check engine light came on. I checked the code, and as I suspected it indicated that the Mass Air Sensor was bad.

Figuring that I'd be handy and try and fix it myself, I bought the Bentley guide and replacing the MAS and starter seemed simple enough. Bought the parts, followed the guide and everything seemed to go very smoothly. Removed the throttle body, unplugged the e-accelerator, and vacuum tube, no problem. Grabbed the key and triumphantly went to start it up. Turned the key . . . engine cranks . . . no whine . . . no CEL . . . cool problem solved. Or so I thought. The car starts fine and does not seem to have a major problem, but when it's idling about every 3 seconds or so, the idle slows down tremendously and then there is a sucking sound and the engine goes back to a more normal idle for about 3 more seconds. I turned off the engine, checked the hoses and connections. Everything seems to be ok. Try it again, same thing, but it seems more prounounced.