986 Forum - The Community for Porsche Boxster & Cayman Owners

986 Forum - The Community for Porsche Boxster & Cayman Owners (http://986forum.com/forums/)
-   Boxster General Discussions (http://986forum.com/forums/boxster-general-discussions/)
-   -   New owner - 04S project car (http://986forum.com/forums/boxster-general-discussions/59388-new-owner-04s-project-car.html)

boxxster 11-02-2015 04:42 PM

New owner - 04S project car

4 Attachment(s)
First time porsche owner and just picked this up as a project car for the winter. Fully loaded 2004 dark teal metallic boxster s with only 33k miles. As I've never worked on a porsche before I'm hoping you guys will be able to provide me with some technical support along the way!

Chuck W. 11-02-2015 05:56 PM

Good looking low mileage Boxster. It doesn't look like that hard of a hit from the photos. Should be a fun winter project. There is a white tag pasted to the inside of the front hood. Looking at the hood I am guessing you'll be replacing it. Get that tag off & keep it. It contains the VIN color codes and option codes unique to your car.

NewArt 11-02-2015 06:06 PM

Looks like a fun project. Any info on the state of the rest of the car? Codes, structure, etc. .

Pdwight 11-02-2015 06:09 PM

One way or another

They are all project cars

boxxster 11-03-2015 11:33 AM

1 Attachment(s)
Thanks for the tip on the hood! At this point I don't know anything other than what can be ascertained from the pictures or pulled up from putting the vin through a free decoder (options, build date etc). Its about 2000miles away right now but should be arriving sometime thursday! Here's what I was able to pull up from the vin.

Chuck W. 11-03-2015 11:56 AM

Nicely optioned Boxster too!

Porsche9 11-03-2015 01:44 PM

Wow, that's some sticker price for a Boxster! To see it the junk yard now is a bit sad but certainly a good resurrection candidate. This forum is a awesome resource. Good luck with getting her back on the road.