Go Back   986 Forum - The Community for Porsche Boxster & Cayman Owners > Porsche Boxster & Cayman Forums > Boxster General Discussions

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-21-2013, 02:45 AM   #1

oil drain plug question

I don't have my new to me used 2002 S yet but I'm studying a lot of forums to get educated. It looks like the oil drain plug is an internal 8mm allen wrench. I guess I'm old school and like a drain plug with an external hex are these available as replacements ? Or am I over thinking this ?

rfuerst911sc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2013, 03:22 AM   #2

If you want to buy a new drain plug, buy a magnetic one from L&E Engineering. But, it's still internal.

http://www.lnengineering.com/store/catalog/billet-aluminum-hard-anodized-magnetic-drain-plug-2pack-p-183.html

Last edited by Flavor 987S; 12-21-2013 at 03:28 AM.
Flavor 987S is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2013, 04:51 AM   #3
jakesbox

First time I ever changed my oil I thought I had really hit the big time because of the Allen wrench set up...lol. Man I'm a nerd right?
2003 996 Twin Turbo X50, PCCB, polar silver / 2004 996 Carerra Cabriolet, midnight blue, cinnamon leather, IMS Pro / 2003 Artic Silver Boxster - Short Throw Shift, IMS Upgrade, Carerra Light Wheels, De-Snorked with Evoms Cold Air Intake, GHL Exhaust (Sold) / 2002 Seal Grey Boxster - Fabspeed Exhaust, Black powder coated wheels, Porsche stripes (Sold) / 2 -1957 356 A Speedsters (signal red and seal grey) (Sold) / 1989 944 Turbo (m030 S options)
trimer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2013, 05:17 AM   #4
recycledsixtie

Garage