986 Forum - The Community for Porsche Boxster & Cayman Owners

986 Forum - The Community for Porsche Boxster & Cayman Owners (http://986forum.com/forums/)
-   Boxster General Discussions (http://986forum.com/forums/boxster-general-discussions/)
-   -   oil drain plug question (http://986forum.com/forums/boxster-general-discussions/49977-oil-drain-plug-question.html)

rfuerst911sc 12-21-2013 02:45 AM

oil drain plug question

I don't have my new to me used 2002 S yet but I'm studying a lot of forums to get educated. It looks like the oil drain plug is an internal 8mm allen wrench. I guess I'm old school and like a drain plug with an external hex are these available as replacements ? Or am I over thinking this ?

Flavor 987S 12-21-2013 03:22 AM

If you want to buy a new drain plug, buy a magnetic one from L&E Engineering. But, it's still internal.

http://www.lnengineering.com/store/catalog/billet-aluminum-hard-anodized-magnetic-drain-plug-2pack-p-183.html

trimer 12-21-2013 04:51 AM

First time I ever changed my oil I thought I had really hit the big time because of the Allen wrench set up...lol. Man I'm a nerd right?

recycledsixtie 12-21-2013 05:17 AM

I believe that the less stuff that hangs out below the car the better. Driving in winter and occasionally being a snowplough with windrows can be problematic because I have the IMS Guardian installed. Not only is the pigtail/nut exposed to the elements but the wiring that goes to the front of the car is exposed to ice and snow. So the original allen screw drain plug is a good idea as it is recessed and has less chance of being dragged on a manhole cover etc. :)

LAP1DOUG 12-21-2013 05:31 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by trimer (Post 377676)
First time I ever changed my oil I thought I had really hit the big time because of the Allen wrench set up...lol. Man I'm a nerd right?

You want to know nerdy: