Go Back   986 Forum - The Community for Porsche Boxster & Cayman Owners > Porsche Boxster & Cayman Forums > Boxster General Discussions

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-15-2013, 01:13 PM   #1

Is RON97 ok?

so just about every petrol station round here only sells RON95 fuel,

but a couple do RON97?

The sticker by my fuel cap says use 98!!

Im no Octane expert (clearly!)

will my engine be OK running just under, or should I search further afield for better fuel!

I don't want to wreck my engine

thanks

Old 08-15-2013, 01:22 PM   #2

jeez I hope so cause the best we can get in Canada is 94. Most stations only carry 93. I think the manual says 94 or 95 here in Canada.
Old 08-15-2013, 01:33 PM   #3

My manual says 98

I did see 105 (or something like that) but only once!
Old 08-15-2013, 01:39 PM   #4

You cannot compare european numbers to numbers in Canada or US. They advertise a different type of rating in Europe

"Occasionally, some filling stations will confuse these different octane numbers in a bid to embellish on their octane rating claims, and advertise their fuel’s Research Octane Number, which is higher than the Road Octane Number. In many European countries, the Research Octane Number is advertised on pumps, so a much higher octane value is common when travelling in certain countries."