986 Forum - The Community for Porsche Boxster & Cayman Owners

986 Forum - The Community for Porsche Boxster & Cayman Owners (http://986forum.com/forums/)
-   Boxster General Discussions (http://986forum.com/forums/boxster-general-discussions/)
-   -   Won the Porsche Lottery Today (http://986forum.com/forums/boxster-general-discussions/47737-won-porsche-lottery-today.html)

reiver 08-23-2013 03:09 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Foydawg (Post 359009)
I paid about $24K for it in late 2010. It had 23,000 miles at the time. I've put about 29,000 miles on it.

Sorry if it's a dumb question as I'm a Porsche newb, but how much are we talking to fix such an issue if IMS goes out? The parts guy at the dealership just laughed when I asked...(although I don't ever plan to use the dealer)

Foydawg 08-23-2013 03:14 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by reiver (Post 359024)
Sorry if it's a dumb question as I'm a Porsche newb, but how much are we talking to fix such an issue if IMS goes out? The parts guy at the dealership just laughed when I asked...(although I don't ever plan to use the dealer)

The lesson I learned is the bearing can fail with no warning signs. Although, I change my oil every 5K and I was due for an oil change.

The indie that's doing the work said the last IMS repair they did was about $6K. They're tallying the parts required for mine as of today and don't have an estimate yet.

reiver 08-23-2013 04:38 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Foydawg (Post 359028)
The lesson I learned is the bearing can fail with no warning signs. Although, I change my oil every 5K and I was due for an oil change.

The indie that's doing the work said the last IMS repair they did was about $6K. They're tallying the parts required for mine as of today and don't have an estimate yet.