Go Back   986 Forum - The Community for Porsche Boxster & Cayman Owners > Porsche Boxster & Cayman Forums > Boxster General Discussions

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-15-2005, 02:34 PM   #1

Question 1997 suggested upgrades?

Hello. Pretty much a total newbie here and looking at buying a 1997 Boxster from a car-fanatic family member. Only about 30K miles on it and it's been mostly garage sitting lately since he has a 911/4 and other cars too.

I'm sure I'll be getting a very good price on it, but are there any suggested mechanical upgrades or accessories you'd recommend on this year model?

hoser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2005, 08:35 PM   #2

Yeah, first things first. Take care of that goofy looking shifter/knob. It looks like a door-knob from the 70's wrapped in plasticy leather! Then you're set (depending on which rims you've got).
2000 Porsche Boxster | SOLD | http://www.986forum.com/forums/showthread.php?t=9114

http://www.kryzak.com/storage/986sig12.jpg

http://kryzak.tumblr.com
Jeph is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2005, 12:28 AM   #3

Get rid of any amber lights if has any.
Patto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2005, 05:36 AM   #4

Talking

First things first.

Before you buy it, take it to the local Porsche dealer and get a complete pre-purchase inspection. Make sure they do a top to bottom job complete with paint meter inspection and a focus on the frame and suspension. RMS and other leaks are of course, a must for this inspection.

Also have the seller provide a complete maint history.

Lastly, run a car fax.

Then we can help you with mods galore.

Good luck.
Brucelee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2005, 05:45 AM   #5

Hi,

My suggestion is to get a proper purchase as BL suggests. Then drive the Car As Is for several months. This will familiarize you with the Car and give you a better understanding of which Mods will be the most important to You.