986 Forum - The Community for Porsche Boxster & Cayman Owners

986 Forum - The Community for Porsche Boxster & Cayman Owners (http://986forum.com/forums/)
-   Boxster General Discussions (http://986forum.com/forums/boxster-general-discussions/)
-   -   new windshield? (http://986forum.com/forums/boxster-general-discussions/25639-new-windshield.html)

02box 08-04-2010 05:16 AM

new windshield?

I took a rock off a big truck this morning on my usual commute. left me with a nasty spider crack. any problem getting new glass for these cars? I'm just beginning the glass search.

thanks, Pat

2002 boxster

jcb986 08-04-2010 05:54 AM

They are not cheap...does your insurance cover it. Here in Florida, auto insurance most cover replacement in full. :cheers:

bonefx 08-04-2010 06:23 AM

Guys...my windshield on my 03 looks like it has very small air pockets in the glass. The entire surface area has areas distributed throughout the windshield. Just a cosmetic problem not structural. I have never seen this before.... has anyone else experienced this with porsche or other mfg's?
Thanks,
Bob

SeanZ4 08-04-2010 07:58 AM

On my way home from buying my Boxster S, I noticed in the overcast lighting, a big crack by the rear view mirror. I bought the Boxster from a Porsche dealer, paid too much, but got it all back in incredible service and a zero deductible year wtty. In Kansas it is the dealer's responsibility to fix cracked windshields before the car is sold. I took it back to them. They put a factory (porsche) one in. The cost to me would have been a little over $800. I don't know if that is in line with other members experience?? This was a few years ago, so today you may have more options....

sean

davemon 08-04-2010 08:24 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by 02box
I took a rock off a big truck this morning on my usual commute. left me with a nasty spider crack. any problem getting new glass for these cars? I'm just beginning the glass search.

thanks, Pat

2002 boxster