Go Back   986 Forum - The Community for Porsche Boxster & Cayman Owners > Porsche Boxster & Cayman Forums > Boxster General Discussions

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-27-2009, 10:02 AM   #1

Falken Ziex 912

Has anyone have these tires on your car now. I have Kumho's and not real crazy about them. Backs are shot. These came on it when I got it...pre-owned of course. Spending mucho bucks on new rotors, pads, 60,000 maintenance. Need reasonable set tires beside the one's Porsche recommends. I'm a Sunday driver living in Florida, so a good summer tire is perfect for here. I have priced a set from Discount Tires installed for $640.00. Basically half the price for N rating brands. I see good and bad reviews from Jap car owners. What the heck, driving fast and furious, nothing holds up. All comments appreciated. JB :dance:

jcb986 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2009, 11:11 AM   #2

http://www.tirerack.com/tires/tires.jsp?tireMake=Sumitomo&tireModel=HTR+Z+III

Have only about 1500 mi on them, but really like them.
robmints is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2009, 11:50 AM   #3

Rob

You have the Falken 912 or the Kumho's
Old 11-27-2009, 01:36 PM   #4

I dont' have any experience with the Ziex 912s but the Falken site says they are all season tires. I took a set of Falken ST 115 summer tires off the car in the spring and replaced with the Sumitomo HTR Z IIIs (also summer tires). Had them drop shipped from Tire Rack to my indie to install. Both are great tires with good performance characteristics and pretty quiet. Sumitomo and Falken are the same company.
DaveinMD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2009, 01:41 PM   #5
RGH

I just replaced Michelin Pilots that had only 14k on them with the Falken 912's. Incidentally, the Michelin's were not worn out, they were just getting old as they were the original tires on my '04 Box.