Go Back   986 Forum - The Community for Porsche Boxster & Cayman Owners > Porsche Boxster & Cayman Forums > Boxster General Discussions

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-31-2009, 03:55 PM   #1

recommendations for longer lasting rear tires

All: would appreciate any recommendations for tire brands for my rear size 17 wheels on my 2002 Boxster S--have tried Michelin Pilots and currently have Kumhos. I would like to get more than 25K from the rear tires. I don't AX or DE my tires. Many thanks for any ideas. Cabjose.

cabjose is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2009, 09:18 PM   #2
kls

I think the only way you're going to get 25,000 on the rear tires is to let them ride in the trunk for about 10,000 miles. I got 17,000 on my Bridgestones and was very happy. I just put on a pair of Pilot Sport Plus on the rear, and I expect about the same mileage, and I'm a very conservative driver.
kls is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2010, 02:42 AM   #3

Quote:
Originally Posted by cabjose
All: would appreciate any recommendations for tire brands for my rear size 17 wheels on my 2002 Boxster S--have tried Michelin Pilots and currently have Kumhos. I would like to get more than 25K from the rear tires. I don't AX or DE my tires. Many thanks for any ideas. Cabjose.
Kumho 's , espically Excta SPT's, are one of the longest lasting tires. Not being able to rotate tires and the rear alignment settings contribute to low mileage for the tires. If you want to play you have to pay. No pay means driving a Yugo. Happy new Years , Ed
cvhs18472 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2010, 06:58 AM   #4

If you get 25k from Michelins

you are doing better than 98% of Boxster owners. I have about 15k on my Michelin Ribs and could get another 4k before they are down to the wear strips but they were made in 02/02 so next year I'll change them just for age reasons.