Go Back   986 Forum - The Community for Porsche Boxster & Cayman Owners > Porsche Boxster & Cayman Forums > Boxster General Discussions

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-26-2009, 02:13 PM   #1

California Emissions Fun

After fearing the California emissions test because of my check engine light, I bought a code reader and got the 1123 code failure. I searched around here and ended up cleaning the MAF and cleaning the throttle body. Went back yesterday afternoon and passed with flying colors. Not only that, but the car idles SO much smoother.

Many thanks to Pedro's Garage for the DIY (www.pedrosgarage.com), I'm no mechanic but you wouldn't know it from my results!

Here's my before and after photos.

[IMG]

2012 Tunda - Dad Hauler
Fat Tire - Favorite Beer
2TrunkSteve is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2009, 06:08 PM   #2

Very nice cleaning job.... congrats on passing w/o any problems...
Old 09-26-2009, 09:44 PM   #3

Thanks!

I've been lurking around 986forum since I bought the car, this is probably the first time I've really relied on the available advise. The satisfaction I am feeling this week is undescribable.

Not to high-jack my own thread, but how's that conversion of yours? My former Porsche was a 1988 911 Targa, which was faster than my 2.5L Boxster. The reason I sold it and bought the Boxster was because of the fact that I was a much better driver after I test drove one. Now that I have driven this car for a few years, I have improved my driving skills and I was just thinking.......if only this thing was faster and more powerful.

While I am at it, how did you sell the expense of it to your Significant Other???
2012 Tunda - Dad Hauler
Fat Tire - Favorite Beer
Old 09-28-2009, 08:20 PM   #4

Hello

Wow man thats really nice to see that,,,,,
Old 09-29-2009, 02:13 PM   #5

Quote:
Originally Posted by 2TrunkSteve
Thanks!