Go Back   986 Forum - The Community for Porsche Boxster & Cayman Owners > Porsche Boxster & Cayman Forums > Boxster General Discussions

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-24-2002, 11:08 PM   #1
Forum Contributor

Question High Mileage

Hello all,

I am a newbie to this forum with an interest in buying a used Boxster S. I currently own a Mercedes and have driven it over 100K miles without any major problems. I am planning on driving it over 200K if I can. I have seen many Mercedes that have more than 200K miles on them without a new engine or an overhaul.

As I investigate the used Boxster market, I see that some of the cars have 40K + miles on them. I would like to know if boxsters or Porsches in general can be driven to 200K miles.

Thanks

Box Dream

Box Dream is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2002, 03:41 AM   #2

Smile 200K

Hard to say since many Boxsters are low mileage garage queens. I have read at another board of one with 165K on the odometer, a few just slightly over 100K, one at about 90K. For the most part though you will find many 4 year old Boxsters with under 30-40K miiles. If you get a good one without any problems, I would hope it could go the distance you are talking about. Mine is a '99 with 46K on it. Also a lot of Boxster owners seem to lease and turn them in way before they reach the 4 year or 50K warranty end. Good luck and hope you find some answers.
mjbliemel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2002, 03:39 PM   #3

The Boxster is too new to see 150k-200k. However, there are many older 911's still tracking hard with 150,000 + miles on 'em. Since the motors have similarities (boxer (flat-six) design), I would assume the Boxster should be able to go the distance.

I fall into your style, as my other cars, a 1978 320i BMW has over 340,000 miles (original owner, motor and only 1 clutch/transmission replacement) and a 1991 BMW 525i with 170,000 miles (absolutely perfect/mint condition).
ehljags is offline   Reply With Quote